Photo: ALASTAIR PIKE/AFP/Getty Images
Twitter announced the launch of a new feature that will allow users to delete unwanted mentions made by other people.. In this way, the user will not have to be immersed in unwanted or aggressive interactions.
The announcement was made through the official account of the social network, which detailed that it will be available immediately for all platforms. This means that users can already enjoy this feature both by accessing it from a computer and from their iOS and Android terminals.
From Twitter clarified that the function will not allow to delete the publication made by another usersince it will remain visible to all users of the social network. What it will make possible is that the mention stops redirecting to the account of the named person in the tweet.
This way the mention will simply appear as text within the post. Likewise, if another person likes the post, shares it or comments on it, the mentioned user will not receive any type of notification.
This is especially handy for those public accounts that receive negative mention messages that include insults or any other type of harassment on Twitter, something that in some cases is relatively common.
How to remove mentions?
The process to be able to delete mentions is extremely easy since it is similar to other functions of the platform, such as muting a tweet. In this case it is necessary to identify the mention that you want to delete and press the three-dot button located in the upper right part of the publication.
This will open a panel in which the option to “Exit the conversation” will appear, when pressed the system will proceed to alert that this action cannot be undone later.
“While no one will receive notifications when you leave a conversation, your username will display differently. You will stop receiving notifications and you will still be able to see the conversation”, they explain from Twitter.
It should be noted that by using this feature, the user who created the initial post will still be able to mention the other person in future tweets, as their account will not be locked during the mention removal process.
This may also interest you:
– Twitter prepares Notes, an update that will allow you to publish posts with a greater number of characters
– Twitter tests function that will allow sharing authorship in tweets
– Twitter debuts new reporting system this week that promises to be easier to use